What is the deal with Christmas Decorations?

Going through my small town back at my parents’ house this weekend for Thanksgiving, the town Christmas decorations are out and spreading joy. Giant stars made from Christmas lights were on every light pole in the town. Only problem is, they didn’t light up at all.

Okay, a little sad but that’s okay. We are trying. With a town of 3,000 people you can’t really expect much but not being able to light up decorations on Christmas, come on guys! My mom did however have her Christmas flag out…actually picked up from Flagexpressions.com! Is it because I got her a discount or because we have the best flags ever? I am hoping because of the best flags ever 🙂 but expecting because of the discount 😦

Being at home over Thanksgiving though reminded me that moms are great. She loves decorating the house and getting a tree. She puts up luminaries around our driveway every year. We also have a blow up Santa and Rudolph along with usually a Griswold sized tree. It wouldn’t feel like Christmas without our decorations though. She loves it…So do we…

If it was up to the guys though (she had 3 boys), the house wouldn’t have anything but Christmas candy for the holidays. We would probably have a tree but it would be able to be snapped together and pre-decorated with many broken ornaments. We would have our Dallas Cowboys flag on the porch year round and it would be faded to the point where you would think it’s a “surrender” flag. Yes we need her for the Holidays.

There is however some things that I wonder why she does it. I mean she puts the candle lights up in all of the windows of the house. The thing is, she made me put up candles in my brothers window this weekend. Doesn’t sound useless huh? Not until you realize his room is in the back of the house which faces…absolutely nothing. No houses, no streets, nope…nothing but woods. He doesn’t even live there anymore due to college but she still required that candle be put up or it would bug her all of December.I love my mom…but sometimes I gotta wonder.

Christmas is by far my favorite Holiday though. We get to eat like it’s Thanksgiving and open presents like it’s our birthdays. I get to see the whole family for a couple of days and catch up on all of our missed time due to work, schedules, and distance apart. It always makes me remember being a kid. I still have trouble sleeping on Christmas Eve even if I know every present I am getting. Feeling young feels great! No matter what you celebrate in December, whether it is Christmas, Hanukah, or Kwanzaa…be thankful for the people and family that make your Holidays special.

If your mom asks you to put up lights in the spare bedroom or an amazing Holiday flag from FlagExpressions in your basement, just smile and do it! (see how I added that in there?) FlagExpressions wishes everyone a great Holiday season and a Happy New Year!

Wanting a new flag? Right now, get free shipping on all orders over $50. Send us some of your Holiday traditions and we will post them in the blog!

Leave a Reply

